Home > Activism, Gay culture, health care, marriage equality > Happy Spring! It’s About Time

Happy Spring! It’s About Time

It’s a beautiful day in Washington and the city is buzzing with activity.

Congress is voting on health care. I’m sorry my Hill friends have to work this weekend, but it comes with the territory and I’m sure they understand the importance of it. You can follow all the drama on Twitter, which, let’s face it, really is the best way to get information for events that are unfolding. There’s also a march happening today in support of health care reform. I firmly believe we’ll be getting some kind of reform in the coming weeks. Is it a good bill? Meh. But, this is where we are. Let’s get it through and slog through the awful process to fix it. Baby steps, I guess.

DC gays are getting married this weekend here too. They’re trying to make it into the Guinness Book of World Records for the biggest same-sex wedding ceremony. Congrats to you all! I love living in a city where this is law.

The Young Feminist Leadership Conference is happening in Washington this weekend, too. This should be a good one.

And, the weekend is going to be capped off with a march for immigrant rights. Sadly, I won’t be able to attend, but I hope my brothers and sisters marching know that I am there with them in solidarity. Like health care, this country needs to seriously reform its immigration policy.

And, where will I be this weekend? Enjoying one, possibly two bbq’s. It’s my first for the season and I’m so happy it’s here. Welcome Spring!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

