Home > Vegan Experiment > Veganism: Day 5

Veganism: Day 5

So, I’ve been on my vegan diet since last Friday and I have to say so far, so good.

I mentioned last time I wrote about this that Jim’s been vegan for more than a year now so I have a bit of an advantage than I would if I were doing this on my own. Still, it’s not totally a cakewalk. My biggest challenge so far is figuring out what to do to snacks.

A big part of the diet is snacking. This helps keep up the metabolism, and it keeps me feeling full. I need to get better about snacking for this reason. Now I understand why Jim is adamant about eating regularly. We’re hungry all the time! It reminds me of the Margaret Cho bit about vegans. Check it out below. The clip is six minutes long, but the bit is right at the beginning. Though, you might find it hard to stop watching since she’s so damn funny.

Alright, so that is a little extreme. I will say that I’ve found myself being hungrier more often, but I promise I won’t attack you if I need to eat and you happen to look me in the eye. Just point me in the direction of the nearest Julia’s (they have an excellent vegan empanada that I highly recommend) or a Yes! food market and I’ll be fine.

I’ve also incorporated some exercise into my diet so hopefully within a few weeks I’ll start to notice some real changes. One thing I have noticed after only 5 days as a vegan is that I don’t feel nearly as bogged down or heavy as I did just last week. I have had nothing but vegetables and whole grains since Friday and I feel awesome. It’s pretty amazing what just five days can do.

As for what I’ve eaten, Jim decided to make this awesome delicious kale recipe on New Year’s Day. He made this one up, but it definitely needs to be on some recipe web site somewhere. I don’t have the particulars of the recipe just yet, but I’ll update this post with it. Also, look for a whole section on my favorite recipes here soon.

The kale lasted a couple of days, but ran out Monday afternoon so last night we went with a recommendation from the 21-Day Vegan Kickstart web site. I’m glad we did, too! Chili mac was one of my favorite dishes as a kid and when I saw it as an item for dinner I knew we had to have it.

I don’t want to get into the habit of using too many meat substitutes (this one calls for soy crumbles), but it’s cold here in Washington and it sounded like the perfect remedy for the blustering cold weather outside.

Be sure to use whole grain pastas and, if possible, organic vegetables. Jim decided to use canola oil instead of boiling the vegetables. This will bump up the caloric intake some, but canola is a good cooking oil to use. Just go easy on it.

I was totally on board with this decision. Boiling the vegetables would have resulted in a rather bland dish. We want people to eat healthier, right?! Being vegan does not mean you have to sacrifice taste. The vegetables and the soy crumbles go really well with the pasta and I’m sure you’ll love it.

It makes a fair amount so you might have some leftovers for the next day, but since when are leftovers a bad thing!

If you’re also trying out this 21-day Vegan Kickstart then congrats to you! You’ve almost one week down and only 16 days to go.

Happy vegan eating!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

  1. Alisa
    January 9, 2010 at 9:01 pm

    I started a couple of days later than you did, so I’m only on day 6, but so far it hasn’t been too difficult. For snacks, I just always keep fruit around, toast with low sugar jam, and I’m found out that Luna bars and some Clif bars are vegan and delicious. I’m going to try that chili mac tomorrow!

  2. dciii
    January 11, 2010 at 1:23 am

    That’s awesome, Alisa! I realized that one of Jim’s secrets was that he always had fruit and nuts around. Lots of nuts. I think we should probably buy some stock for all the nuts we’ve consumed over the past year!

    Thanks for the tip on the tip about the Luna bars. I had no idea. I’m having some difficulty finding a snack to eat when I’m on the go and don’t have the time for a meal.

    I’m so glad you’re doing this, too! It’s awesome having the extra support and I actually really do feel better. We’ve begun to incorporate some yoga into our weekly routine, too. It’s doing wonders already.

    Let me know what how the chili mac works out for you. It fed me and Jim for about three days! It was yummy, too.

  3. Alisa
    January 14, 2010 at 2:54 am

    I only made half the recipe of chili mac because Michael isn’t doing the vegan thing and usually doesn’t want any vegan recipes I cook, but it smelled so good that he at half of it, so I only had a tiny bit left for the next day. In other words, huge success. Question: Have you found any good vegan cheese substitutes? Cheese is what I miss the most.

    • dciii
      January 14, 2010 at 3:54 am

      That’s awesome! Jim’s co-workers are always asking him what he eats and give him some gentle ribbing about veganism, too. When he took some of the chili mac for lunch the next day they all let him know that it smelled wonderful. It sounded like they all wanted to try it, too.

      I’ll ask Jim about some vegan cheese options. You can probably find some at an oranic food market, though.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

